Hey out there. Been a bit off the grid these days. The Muse has been cooperative but I think weaning her off the speed. It has been detrimental because my out put has been down. She wants to write but just hasn't had the energy lately.
Still, the good news is I finished my story for the
hlh_shortcuts. Halfway through a new Chlean story and the Spawn Apocalypse is still underway though I haven't made any progress lately.
Heroes
I may be the only one out there who still enjoys Heroes. I realize it's been a bit of a mess lately but I like the characters well enough to wait it out. There are many things I do like. I like Ali Larter's new character and glad they dumped the Nikki version - never liked her. I like Matt and Daphne - they are adorable together - though everyone in my house predicted that Daphne would have some form of disability without her powers. Looking forward to Seth Green and Breckin Meyer's parts next week after their brief cameos. Not thrilled with the idea of Hiro being 10 mentally but I do love the idea of their powers being gone for the moment and how they react to their loss. And now we have two camps which is classic comic book setup for the eventual showdown.
Big Bang Theory
It took me a while to warm up to this show. The rest of the family loves it. This season has been hilarious. They gave Penny a bit more smarts and her snarky semi-feud with Sheldon is comedy gold - "No Shoes, No Shirt, No Sheldon". I love Leonard's line about Sheldon from a few weeks back that He's "one lab accident away from becoming a supervillian." I adore that the show knows Wednesday is comic book day and that Sheldon has cast all his friends as his our Star Trek away team. I am still annoyed by Howard and the way he dresses just drives me nuts but I adore Kuthrapali - he is the quiet guy who has some of the funniest lines.
Bones
I adore this show but I am still undecided about the turn of events with Angela and Hodgins. I'm starting to think he deserves better so, while getting them back together is still something I want to see, it no longer drives me crazy that the show broke them up. I am a little disheartened that Angela has taken up with Roxie - it seems very gimmicky to me to have her switch teams and a play to get more male viewers.
The interplay between Booth and Bones is as sharp as ever and reminds me of the great screwball comedy teams of the thirties. I also like Sweets a lot - I know others find him grating but i think he is hilarious. they way the team all seek his advice but never actually acknowledge that they want/need him around
Pushing Daisies and Eli Stone
ABC breaks my heart which is unusual because it's always been CBS or Fox in the past (Firefly - I miss you). ABC has canceled Eli Stone and Pushing Daisies. Really ABC - You're no longer interested in quality TV. ABC took some big chances last season with some quirky stuff and I wish the viewing public would have supported it. All this means is that fewer unique shows will be given the green light and more safe procedurals with be commissioned during pilot season. Don't get me wrong I adore NCIS, Bones and CSI:NY has become my favorite version of the CSI's but I can only handle so many procedurals in one week. I hope that the networks will continue to take chances but with the bleak new season - during which I've only added The Mentalist to my list of shows (I know another procedural) I fear that TV will now become the cultural wasteland that others already accuse it of being
Still, the good news is I finished my story for the
Heroes
I may be the only one out there who still enjoys Heroes. I realize it's been a bit of a mess lately but I like the characters well enough to wait it out. There are many things I do like. I like Ali Larter's new character and glad they dumped the Nikki version - never liked her. I like Matt and Daphne - they are adorable together - though everyone in my house predicted that Daphne would have some form of disability without her powers. Looking forward to Seth Green and Breckin Meyer's parts next week after their brief cameos. Not thrilled with the idea of Hiro being 10 mentally but I do love the idea of their powers being gone for the moment and how they react to their loss. And now we have two camps which is classic comic book setup for the eventual showdown.
Big Bang Theory
It took me a while to warm up to this show. The rest of the family loves it. This season has been hilarious. They gave Penny a bit more smarts and her snarky semi-feud with Sheldon is comedy gold - "No Shoes, No Shirt, No Sheldon". I love Leonard's line about Sheldon from a few weeks back that He's "one lab accident away from becoming a supervillian." I adore that the show knows Wednesday is comic book day and that Sheldon has cast all his friends as his our Star Trek away team. I am still annoyed by Howard and the way he dresses just drives me nuts but I adore Kuthrapali - he is the quiet guy who has some of the funniest lines.
Bones
I adore this show but I am still undecided about the turn of events with Angela and Hodgins. I'm starting to think he deserves better so, while getting them back together is still something I want to see, it no longer drives me crazy that the show broke them up. I am a little disheartened that Angela has taken up with Roxie - it seems very gimmicky to me to have her switch teams and a play to get more male viewers.
The interplay between Booth and Bones is as sharp as ever and reminds me of the great screwball comedy teams of the thirties. I also like Sweets a lot - I know others find him grating but i think he is hilarious. they way the team all seek his advice but never actually acknowledge that they want/need him around
Pushing Daisies and Eli Stone
ABC breaks my heart which is unusual because it's always been CBS or Fox in the past (Firefly - I miss you). ABC has canceled Eli Stone and Pushing Daisies. Really ABC - You're no longer interested in quality TV. ABC took some big chances last season with some quirky stuff and I wish the viewing public would have supported it. All this means is that fewer unique shows will be given the green light and more safe procedurals with be commissioned during pilot season. Don't get me wrong I adore NCIS, Bones and CSI:NY has become my favorite version of the CSI's but I can only handle so many procedurals in one week. I hope that the networks will continue to take chances but with the bleak new season - during which I've only added The Mentalist to my list of shows (I know another procedural) I fear that TV will now become the cultural wasteland that others already accuse it of being
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 01:59 pm (UTC)Hurry back to the grid, you are much missed when you're not here. My day is incomplete if you're not in it. I don't know if I can survive without you. I don't like it when you're not around. You complete me! (I'm melodramatic when I'm sick - this should be a new experience for you...snort)
(And on a personal note, everything okay? I've been concerned about emailing you after the topic of our last conversation.)
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 03:45 pm (UTC)I adore your melodrama - and hope you are feeling better. [g]
LAnded in Birmingham and have to head to the plant. will be abck on line later when i travel home - Yes I'm doing Cols to Bhm and back in one day - not fun but we leave for Vegas this week and I need to get home
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 05:17 pm (UTC)That's right - VIVA LAS VEGAS!
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 08:28 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 05:24 pm (UTC)What the writers of Bones did to Angela and Hodgins is pure "GRRRRR" to me. It sucks. I'm also thinking that this is just a pattern for Angela, she seems to sabotage every relationship she has; dumping Roxie the first time (they got back together when Angela was lonely and horny, not the best circumstances); the guy in the desert who loved her but she'd only let them be together 3 weeks a year; her husband that she completely forgot about and now Hodgins.
Still on the fence about Sweet. He bugs the hell out of me, but when he kissed his girlfriend in front of everybody I actually developed some respect for him.
I still miss Zach.
Bones and Booth remain one of TV's hottest couples and I like how their relationship is progressing. But I really miss that Chinese place they used to go to.
I'm looking forward to the change of power on CSI:Vegas as William Peterson bows out. NCIS is still the best of all procedurals, in characters and consistency of writing.
I'm really rambling and am going to cut myself off now.
*hugs*
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 05:47 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 08:21 pm (UTC)I still miss Zach! but I do enjoy the rotating interns - they add an element of surprise to the episodes.
Angela's short attention span is why I've become ambivalent about her getting back with Hodgins. He deserves someone who can commit to him.
CSI:Vegas has been so dreary this season but I have high hopes for Mr. Fishburne. CSI:NY has become my new must see - I adore Danny Messer and am really enjoying this crew more than the Vegas bunch - If they can get Nick to move to NY then that would be the perfect show. [g]
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 05:53 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 08:16 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 07:14 pm (UTC)As for Heroes...I just miss Mr Monroe ;-; He was evil, yes, but he was such a good evil dude, annnd he was supposed to be immortal! *grumbles*
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 08:23 pm (UTC)I was upset they killed Adam - I really enjoyed his character but on the other hand I like that Heroes will kill anyone and that adds an element of the unexpected to the show.
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 08:49 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 09:25 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-25 11:15 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-26 12:38 am (UTC)TV huh?
Date: 2008-11-25 10:03 pm (UTC)I love the idea of Heroes, but have never seen an episode, maybe I'll start them this next year.
Never heard of Big Bang Theory?
Seen a few Bones episodes, and they were ok, but David Boreanez isn't really my thing.
Never heard of Pushing Daisies or Eli Stone??
But I love CSI and NCIS - love, love, love
And I've seen The Mentalist (one episode) b/c my parents watch it and I found it ok, I'd watch it again. And the main guy, he is a hottie, so bonus.
Re: TV huh?
Date: 2008-11-25 10:06 pm (UTC)I guess that's what fanfic is for: a substitute for TV.
Big Bang Theory is a sitcom about a bunch of super smart socially retrded scientist and their very normal neighbor. It's hilarious
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-26 12:55 am (UTC)I live in a broken tv box :)
*snort*
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-26 01:37 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-26 02:40 am (UTC)I've watching Bones more, I like it. I wish Angela and Hodgins would get back together, but eh, I'd be equally happy if he took up with the new intern. XP Come on, TV, where's my slash!? I like Sweets too, I thought it was hilarious when we find he was with..whatsername, Daisy, that talked too much. Also, I'm a psych major, so I'm all "YAY PSYCHOLOGY!"
(no subject)
Date: 2008-11-26 04:27 am (UTC)Love the idea of Sweets and Daisy - hope they show them together more